Avionics

Any VC10 related discussions.....
Post Reply
User avatar
vololiberista
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:13 pm
Location: LIMZ - CUF

Avionics

Post by vololiberista » Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:25 pm

Assuming the APU is not available would the avionics come on if just ground power was available or only when the generators are running?

Jelle Hieminga
Webmaster
Posts: 749
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 9:03 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Avionics

Post by Jelle Hieminga » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:32 pm

That depends on the Ground Power switch. With this set to CLOSE, the Ground Power Breaker closes, which connects the Ground Power busbar to the Sys A synchronising busbar, and through the SSB to the Sys B synchronising busbar. In that case power is available for the complete electrical system and thus for the avionics. If the Ground Power switch is left in OPEN position, only 28V DC and domestic busbars are powered, so no avionics in that case. All this is based on the VC10 C Mk 1 pilot's notes - technical, I hope I got it right :wink:
Buttons . . . check. Dials . . . check. Switches . . . check. Little
colored lights . . . check.

User avatar
vololiberista
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:13 pm
Location: LIMZ - CUF

Re: Avionics

Post by vololiberista » Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:28 pm

Jelle Hieminga wrote:
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:32 pm
That depends on the Ground Power switch. With this set to CLOSE, the Ground Power Breaker closes, which connects the Ground Power busbar to the Sys A synchronising busbar, and through the SSB to the Sys B synchronising busbar. In that case power is available for the complete electrical system and thus for the avionics. If the Ground Power switch is left in OPEN position, only 28V DC and domestic busbars are powered, so no avionics in that case. All this is based on the VC10 C Mk 1 pilot's notes - technical, I hope I got it right :wink:
Thanks Jelle,
That sounds right. Programming the logic of the electrics panel is a bit of a nightmare. Manged today to get the standy TRU to twitch each time you movethe selector switch. Works nicely.

User avatar
1103
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: About 5 miles from Wisley Airfield

Re: Avionics

Post by 1103 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:05 pm

The same process applies if the APU generator is available.

Post Reply