5th Engine Pod

Any VC10 related discussions.....
Post Reply
User avatar
vc10boy
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:37 am
Location: East Ruston Norfolk

5th Engine Pod

Post by vc10boy »

It might have been asked before..but what happend to the the 5th Engine Pods..?..Did they go to the RAF after the super fleet was sold to them with all the other spares?..Ive never seen a BA VC10 fitted with the pod?..Did the RAF have there own pods when they got the cmk1,s back in the 60,s?..maybe Ryan Air got them and plan use them as sleepers at a very special price :roll: ? (luggage not included) :-)/\/\/\)
vc10boy,s photo,s of VC10,s over the years...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/116993858@N08/sets/

User avatar
EGDGZTCW
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:53 am

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by EGDGZTCW »

Good question and one I've wondered myself. Never saw one while I was at BZZ at the end of the 70's.
There is a photo of GASGI in BA colours on Airliners.net by Steve Brimley.

rpontin
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by rpontin »

The RAF never had the pods and they could not carry a Conway as freight either. I do remember seeing one in Bahrain on a BA VC10 in the 70's

Jelle Hieminga
Webmaster
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 9:03 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Jelle Hieminga »

I thought the RAF didn't have pods as they could carry a Conway as main deck freight?
Buttons . . . check. Dials . . . check. Switches . . . check. Little
colored lights . . . check.

Gwyn
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:03 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Gwyn »

Hi All,

I have flown in BA with the rather streamlined fibre-glass pod nicely tucked LH wing root when we flew Tokyo - Hong Kong with the engine that I had catch fire a couple of days before. We kept a spare engine in HKG in those days.

Years before on the Classic 747 we spent many hours lugging a spare engine about inboard of No.2 with no fancy container - just the engine hung there with a fan blade blocker to stop the thing spinning away.

Typical Boeing fix. No finesse at all.

Gwyn

LSS
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by LSS »

There was a pod in base hangar around June 83. It was an ex BA one, got at the time ModPE purchased the Civiliian VC10s and spares. It was never used and scrapped. At Brize around 1984.

Gwyn
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:03 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Gwyn »

Cut a hole in the top and it would have made a superb toboggan. Even slap a 'Speedbird' on the side.

Stewart
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Stewart »

vc10boy wrote:It might have been asked before..but what happend to the the 5th Engine Pods..?..Did they go to the RAF after the super fleet was sold to them with all the other spares?..Ive never seen a BA VC10 fitted with the pod?..Did the RAF have there own pods when they got the cmk1,s back in the 60,s?..maybe Ryan Air got them and plan use them as sleepers at a very special price :roll: ? (luggage not included) :-)/\/\/\)
An early photo of a 5 engined BA VC10.. and not just any VC10 either!
Image

Gwyn
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:03 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Gwyn »

What a cracking good picture. Looks like 'GM'

Stewart
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by Stewart »

GM would also appear to be the final BOAC airframe of any type to fly, Although Dad seems convinced there are some of the BOAC 747-100s still about in storage (I thought they had all been broken up) although I can't see them flying again

petet16
Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by petet16 »

Some of the BA -100s could still be at Victorville, although I think it unlikely, given the length of time they've been retired.

petet16
Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by petet16 »

NH & NJ are shown as being in storage http://www.airfleets.net/ficheapp/plane-b747-20270.htm

The -100 were scrapped at Roswell, so there may be 2 in storage there.

User avatar
vc10boy
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:37 am
Location: East Ruston Norfolk

Re: 5th Engine Pod

Post by vc10boy »

ive herd from a chap at Brize that the engine pods did end up there but never used..then by accident a bloke in the stores saw them on a list on the computer ,didnt really know what they where and had them all scrapped...thats the story i as told anyway...
vc10boy,s photo,s of VC10,s over the years...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/116993858@N08/sets/

Post Reply